Light and Spirit

Some of you may wonder how I came up with the blog name, “Light and Spirit.” It is quite simple, it symbolizes my 2 daughters, Reika and Reese.

Reika’s name is of Japanese origin, and when my husband found the meaning, he found it meant, “the embodiment of light.” We both instantly fell in love with the name. Reika has definitely lit up our world.

The story behind Reese’s name is a bit longer. Truthfully, Reese does not directly mean spirit, although you could stretch your imagination to see spirit. Reese is a Welch name meaning “enthusiasm.” Reese to me is my baby angel. When my husband and I started trying for a baby we got pregnant nearly immediately. We weren’t quite ready, and we ended up having a miscarriage. Please make note that I view a miscarriage as a blessing and hold with it the knowledge I know I can get pregnant.

During one of the first days of our miscarriage, my husband took me out for breakfast. We walked into the restaurant, and it was filled with moms and babies. He asked if I wanted to go elsewhere, and I said no. He had to go to the washroom, and while he was gone I felt this little poke in my shoulder. Then I felt it again. I turned around and there was a little boy who was enjoying poking me. His mother immediately apologized. I asked what his name was, and she told me Reese.

Reese then became my inspiration to hang in there and I knew we would have our own bundle of joy soon enough.

On an interesting side note, Reika was born the day before our one year anniversary of our miscarriage.

Reika is the light and Reese is the spirit.

Leave a Reply

