“The Shift”

I watched Dr. Wayne Dyer’s “The Shift” last night. What a profound movie. I went and saw Dr. Dyer speak this past week on the philosophies presented in the movie. He talks of us all having a purpose, and part of our greater purpose is to be happy. It is about discovering and achieving your greatest potential in your lifetime.

When I was a teenager, I had a feeling I wanted to be a motivational speaker. When I first had the feeling, I thought to myself, “Who, you? You’re too shy, how could you possibly become a motivational speaker?” Being a young, naive, teenager, I dismissed my thought, and moved on with my life.

As time grew on, this feeling arose again. It arose more recently in life, and I decided to act upon it. This blog is part of my path to becoming a world renown motivational/inspirational speaker.

I found my lost path again 4 years ago while preparing for my wedding. Like all brides excited about planning her dream wedding, I went to a bunch of wedding fairs. There was one in particular where I walked past a booth called Calgary Fit Brides. I started talking to the founder/trainer of the program, Adrianne. I instantly clicked with him, and when I got home, I told my husband to be I wanted to do the Fit Bride program. Ry asked me if there was a Fit Groom program, so we asked, and there was. Seeing our potential and the strength Ry and I had together, Adrianne ended up tailoring our program into a couple’s program. It was Adrianne who introduced Ry and I to “The Secret,” as well, he introduced us to our great friend, Lars.

It was with “The Secret,” and our meeting of Lars where my spiritual journey, or “Shift,” really began. I grew up in a Christian household and went to church almost every Sunday. I felt really confused about religion. I believe in the stories, and I felt there was more to the whole church idea. Also, being shy and quiet during my younger years allowed me a lot of time to reflect and contemplate life. In fact, when I told my dad about my philosophies on the whole Adam and Eve story, he said to me, “I didn’t realize you were so philosophical.” “The Secret,” opened my eyes to some new ideas, and reinforced ideas I realized I had been practicing all along. It helped me to slow down, and trust in the universe that everything happens for a reason and would be provided for when the time is right.

Meeting Lars brought me further down the path. He has been a great friend, a great listener, and an encourager. He also helped me meet a motivational speaker, Cheryl. Shortly after I gave birth to my first daughter I attended a meeting at the Bodymind Institute with my husband. I was there simply as an observer as I was simply trying to kill some time while waiting for Ryan. There were a bunch of new faces at this meeting, so everyone was introducing themselves. It came Cheryl’s turn, and she mentioned she was a motivational speaker. I made a mental note to myself, I needed to talk to her. I was too nervous that night to talk to her, and I was a bit disappointed as I didn’t know when I could talk to her again. There was a retreat for the Bodymind group happening that my husband was attending. I was extended a welcome to join the retreat so I could have Ryan’s help with our new-born daughter. Cheryl happened to be at the retreat, and I was able to pick her brain the entire weekend. I asked her how she became a motivational speaker, and she told me her story. I then said I felt as though motivational speakers always had some kind of story to share. It was then I figured out mine.

Shortly after meeting Cheryl, I started writing. I was more writing my thoughts with the intention of publishing a book down the road and then becoming a motivational speaker. It was Lars who encouraged me to share the story of how positive thinking manifested my house, that got me blogging 3 times a week.

I am so eager and excited now to learn more about self-awakening and to share what I learn with other people. I know there will come a day where I am standing on stage inspiring others to find themselves. I know there will be a day when I have the honor to meet the most humbling inspirer, Dr. Wayne Dyer. I am an inspirer myself. Who inspires you, and what shift has your life made?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. ic444
    May 23, 2011 @ 17:25:46

    love love love love love love one another!!!

    get it ?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

