The Power of the Mind

The mind can be a powerful thing. Modern medicine tends to underestimate the power of the mind. If it can’t be cured using medication, surgery, radiation, etc, then it can’t be cured. Medicine tends to turn a blind eye to alternatives such as diet, meditation, prayer, positive thinking, Reiki, acupuncture, and many other “Eastern” or holistic practices.

Our thoughts can affect our health and our lives in general. A few weeks ago I had started to get myself all worked up over a situation at work. I actually caught myself and mentally told myself to stop projecting the negative energies. I shifted my thoughts to positive thoughts, and everything was fine.

I have also experienced the power of prayer first hand. A few years ago I had a miscarriage. My parents had asked our Church to pray for my husband and I. When they told me afterward, I said I knew as I had felt a wave of calmness enter me that Sunday morning.

When you have a strong belief in yourself and overcoming any adversity or illness that may come your way, you can fight through anything. I look at my Grandparents who have both been near death, yet seem to miraculously rebound. There must be something out there keeping them around.

Have faith, and believe in yourself. Know that you can!

Leave a Reply

