Life’s theme song

My sister sent me a note the other day telling me of a motivational speaker she saw at work. The lady asked each of them what their theme song would be. A few people had picked Everyday is a Winding Road, while others picked Walking on Sunshine.

It really made me sit back and think about what my theme song is. It has certainly changed over the years. When I first left home for university, I set my theme song to the Dixie Chicks’ Wide Open Spaces. Years later, I hit a rough patch with a job I held for a short while, and my theme song became Honey I’m Home sung by Shania Twain. Today I would say my theme song is a mix of Tom Cochrane’s Life is a Highway, Mariah Carey/Whitney Houston’s When You Believe, and Lady Gaga’s Born This Way.

I never really paid much attention to song lyrics and their meanings before until my husband and I were choosing our wedding song. We ended up choosing one most people would never have thought of, Chasing Cars by Snow Patrol.

Song lyrics can hold powerful messages and be huge inspirations to people. Chelsea mentioned she paused to think what it would be like to have a theme song playing in the background in the morning to help set her mood for the day instead of stressing trying to get herself and her son ready for the day. It is amazing how a simple shift in attitude can make a huge difference in a person’s day. She would like to challenge everyone to figure out what your theme song is.

Have an awesome week!

J.

Leave a Reply

