How do you do it?

While I was in university, a friend of mine asked me how I did it. I asked her,

How do I do what?

How are you so outgoing?

I told her to trust me that I am normally a shy little wallflower. Upon first meeting people I tend to be quiet and reserved; yet as I get to know them, I realize I can be myself and I’m quite talkative.

My mom had given me a box of stuff she held onto from my childhood. In it were my old report cards. I was looking at my grade 1 report card, and my teacher had written the comment,

Jenifer likes to talk in class and disrupt her neighbors.

It is still true today that I would rather visit than work. I believe it was my young childhood experience that pushed me to become the wallflower instead of the wildflower.

I’m not bitter about my experience, as it actually allowed me to grow into who I am today. I sometimes enjoy being the wallflower and enjoy absorbing all that happens around me. It gives me time to daydream and contemplate life. It taught me to think about what I want to say instead of shooting my mouth off.

I love sharing my stories. I want to be heard. To hear me sometimes, you may have to stop talking yourself and actually choose to listen. It was interesting this Christmas. At times the room went nearly completely silent people could listen to me.

If you are quiet, you can be heard. People need to choose to listen to you. Sometimes you may need to raise your voice and say,

Will you please listen to me!

You can do it, and you can do anything. It is all a matter of willpower. How badly do you want to be heard?

Leave a Reply

