You can do it, I know you can!

Last week I started my half-marathon running clinic. Our first night our instructor told us we would be running 4 km (2.5 mi for my American friends). I thought, okay that’s not bad. She then said that technically the 4 km run should be a solid, steady run with no walk breaks, and that she would aim to do 10 and 1’s (run 10 min, walk 1). I hadn’t run since October, and began to feel panic set in a bit.

I wasn’t alone. A few other people asked if anyone was planning on doing a run-walk pace.

Our instructor then continued to tell us Sundays would be our long run, and we would be doing 9 km (just over 5.5 mi). I thought, “are you kidding me, don’t you know I haven’t run since October!” Then the angel on my other shoulder told me, “you can do it! You’ve run before, you’ve even done 1 half-marathon, you know you can do it!”

I ended up running with another girl who was kind enough to keep pace with me. I tried to keep up with her, and soon realized I needed to be the pace setter.

The one thing I find amazing about the running community is how friendly and encouraging everyone is. As my new friend reminded me, it was great to make a new friend to run with and to enjoy the beautiful evening with.

No matter how challenging your goal, remember, “left foot, right foot, left foot, right foot.” All it takes is a first step!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Peggy
    Apr 09, 2012 @ 16:58:40

    I have a close friend who motivates me when I’m down in the dumps. She knows how to encourage me without nagging and I love her for it.
    Love your story telling Jen and really happy you belong to a friendly running community.
    Keep shining…..keep smiling.
    Hugs
    Peggy xxxxx

    Reply

  2. Joye
    Apr 09, 2012 @ 21:23:14

    Yes you can girl! We can accomplish a lot with a positive spirit. Keep running for yourself, your family and for me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

