Our children are precious!

I wanted to share this posting from spirituallythinking.blogspot.com

20120508-231041.jpg

Our children are so precious. Take time out of your busy day and actually spend some quality time with them. This includes turning off the “screens” as I had seen on another pin on Pinterest. I have been just as guilty as I half listen to my toddlers while checking Facebook. Who’s more important, your own child hitting a milestone, or receiving the text, tweet, status updat, etc that your bestie’s kid just hit a milestone.

Another friend of mine who developed the Conscious Pregnancy & Parenting Guide for the BodyMind Institute (www.bodymindinstitute.com/courses/bmi/conscious-pregnancy), had tried not to use her laptop in front of her child. When I started my blog, she asked how I was able to juggle everything. I said half the time I would write with one of my girls on my lap.

I have been guilty of telling my girls to wait a minute while I’ve been checking Facebook or Pinterest. The so called “Smart” phones are making it even easier for us to remain distant from one another.

I realized the other day I need to limit the usage of my phone in front of my kids. My 2 year old is obsessed with using anything as a phone. At least she pretends to be actually talking to people. While I caught my 3 year old playing with a toy that resembled my iPhone. She was off by herself while a friend was over for a play date. I then had to encourage her to socially interact with her friend. What a wake up call that was!

Get outdoors and play with your kids. Read to them; that is actually pick up the book and read it yourself. Turn off the tv, computer, smart phone, etc and actually ask them about their day. I love hearing about what adventures excited them, even if I can’t always understand what they are saying.

All I ask is to love your children! Be grateful they were blessed into your life! Now stop reading this, and go build a fort!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nicolephinney
    May 09, 2012 @ 10:23:01

    Such an important reminder; sometimes I get entirely too caught up in my networking. These precious little moments don’t have a repeat or refresh button!

    Reply

    • lightandspirit
      May 09, 2012 @ 12:30:26

      That is so true Nicole. I like your comment, “they don’t have a repeat or refresh button.” if I’m not paying attention, my oldest daughter will say, “mommy, listen to me, you’re not listening.”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

