The Wall

Last night as I was coming home from my running clinic I thought to myself, can I really do this. This coming Sunday I will be running my second half-marathon. I have volunteered to be a friend’s pace car and help her to complete her first half-marathon.

Running long distances can be intimidating. A few people in my clinic had mentioned they didn’t like the feeling of being able to see for miles. It made their target feel as though it was ahead, yet just out of reach.

I’m not super diligent on my training. I prefer to run with people, and the evils of procrastination got the better if me this weekend. Yet as I was walking home, I looked down at my shoe and saw the chip from my first half-marathon still attached to my laces. It reminded me I have gone the distance once already, I know I can do it again. It is one step at a time.

Whether it be running, or life in general, we all hit walls from time to time. My husband and I hit a few of those walls this past week. In times of trial, we need to be strong and unite. Let the trumpets sound and have that wall come tumbling down as it did in biblical Jericho (Joshua 6:20)!

When you have faith and gratitude, the trumpets will sound! It’s best not to take anything for granted. For “whoever has gratitude will be given more, and he or she will have an abundance. Whoever does not have gratitude , even what he or she has will be taken from him or her. (an adaptation to Matthew 25:29 as found in The Magic by Rhonda Byrne.

Go out, unite, be strong!

Leave a Reply

