I believe in the power of you and I

The Olympics always inspire me. It amazing to see the perseverance of the athletes to get to this point in their lives. I love the stories of how each athlete decided to peruse their sport.

For those athletes that were inspired by watching the Olympics as young children, I am starting to relate to your plight.

Although my children are very young, 2.5 and almost 4, they are very impressionable. They both keep saying, “Mommy, me do that?” My husband and I are trying to be encouraging and we keep reminding them they can be and do whatever they want.

My oldest is calling her swimming lessons her Olympic swimming school. Both her and her sister are practicing their sprinting on our front sidewalk. Our youngest wanted to go outside in the backyard to practice her monkey bars late at night after watching the uneven bars. And our oldest’s soccer medal has now become her gold medal.

Our oldest asked us, “Daddy, when I’m at the Olympics, who will watch me?” We both said “the world!” Although a 4 year old does not quite grasp that concept. So we told her mommy, daddy and Reese would all be there to watch her. I wouldn’t miss it for the world.

Who knows, we could have a budding Olympian, or two, in our midst.

Keep the dream alive.

I believe together we’ll fly, I believe in the power of you and I. – Believe, Nikki Yanofsky

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Peggy
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 01:56:58

    Lovely story Jen. Keeping the dream alive is so very important.
    I believe in the power of you and I too!
    Namaste
    Peggy ♥♥♥

    Reply

Leave a Reply

