No Regrets

On my way to work this morning I was listening to some tunes when Tom Cochrane’s No Regrets came on my iPod. I thought to myself, how fitting right now. When you reflect back on your life, ensure you have no regrets, remember the good times you had.

As many of you know already, I ran another half-marathon on the weekend. I would have to say this was the most difficult run I have done to date. I now also know what my husband means by a “blown run”. (Fellow runners, you may also know what I mean by this term)

I was running with a great friend of mine who was inspired by my running when I did the Melissa’s road race last year. She was as much of an inspiration to me as I was to her. She wanted to finish the race in under 2:45, and her husband told us to start with the 2:30 pace bunny. We were keeping good pace for around the first 5-7 km when we heard, “runners on  your left.” Jenn looked behind us and said, “are you the 2:45 pace bunny? I can’t possibly finish at 2:45.” I told Jenn to go ahead, that I’d be fine. I stuck with the 2:45 pace bunny, or just slightly back, for around the next 7 km. By the 15 k marker, my legs said they had enough. The devil on my shoulder was telling me to quit, lie down on the road and cry to my heart’s content. The angel was telling me not to quit, that Jenn would not quit. The angel kept telling me I could do it. I’d done that race before, so what was different. The angel even reminded me of a similar situation I was in when I had my second daughter. I was exhausted and getting frustrated about breastfeeding. The pediatrician asked if I breastfed my oldest. I told her yes. She asked for how long. I told her for 11 months. She then told me I could do it, and to not worry. I went on to breastfeed our youngest for 14 months.

This race was not for me. I was there to get Jenn where she needed to be. In fact, life has a funny way of working out. It was about 4 years ago I got the inkling to even want to run a half-marathon in the first place.Yes, that first one was for me, yet it inspired Jenn who had never been a runner in the first place to lace up and find a new passion.

I did finish the race, and ended up walking the last 5 km. My husband was waiting at the last turn with my 2 beautiful daughters in the stroller, and as a family we all came in together. I couldn’t have done it without my husband, and without Jenn. I’m proud of us all.

I’m dedicating today’s blog to all the people who are fighting a battle with cancer, have fought a battle with cancer and won, and those whose battle was lost. You can do this, you can reach the finish line.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Steph
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 20:48:14

    Beautiful story! Jenn is a great breast friend of mine and is definitely an inspiration to me as well.

    Reply

    • lightandspirit
      Sep 24, 2012 @ 21:27:37

      Thanks Steph. As much as Jenn wouldn’t have been at the Melissa’s race without me, I wouldn’t have finished it without her. I am so blessed to have a wonderful friend in my life.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

