It’s up to you!

Reading some of the comments to my post on Monday, and also experiencing a change in my own life, I see the importance that it is up to yourself to change yourself.

Many people sit around wishing they would win the lottery. As the joke goes, you need to go buy a ticket first. The same applies to change in your life.

When you are unhappy about the way things are, it is up to you to do something about it. Sometimes the universe does give you a gift and nudges you toward a change, yet it is still up to you to make the most of it and follow the signs.

Perhaps you need a career change. It takes a lot to make a career change, especially when you don’t have the experience in the field you want to move to. I struggled with this myself a number of years ago. I had my Bachelor of Commerce degree in International Business, yet I was not working in the field I wanted to be in. I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do, and decided I wanted to get into Accounting. It was challeneging as when I applied for accounting positions, no one would hire me as I didn’t have the experience. I started applying for even admin type positions so I could at least get my foot in the door. One job interview I went to, I even broke down crying. The guy interviewing me asked me why I was applying for the position as I was overqualified for it. I told him I was trying to change my job. He asked where I saw myself in 5 years. I told him I had been considering switching to accounting and was toying with the idea of working towards a designation. He asked me what was stopping me from pursuing that dream. It was the wake up call I needed.

For the majority of people, life is not going to be spoon fed to you with a silver spoon. You actually have to go out and apply yourself.

It’s time to get yourself up off the couch or out of bed. Be grateful you are alive. Get out and enjoy the sunshine. Find what motivates you, and find what your inner passion is.

Keep your chin up!

This pic was pulled off a friends Facebook page. Not sure of the original source.

20121114-064950.jpg

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patrick McFadden
    Nov 14, 2012 @ 08:48:46

    I tell individuals that i meet: Looking inward first is the only realistic way to develop a proper direction outward. I tell people that 85% of the process of having the confidence of proper direction is to look inward. 15% is the application – resumes, job search, interviewing, starting your own business, etc.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

