Forever Young

Ahhhh, the innocence of childhood. What would it be like to be a kid again. To have not a care in the world. To run and play barefoot outside. To eat dirt and explore nature. To make believe.

This year I have had a few moments where I felt like running to my parents saying Mommy, Daddy come here and deal with this. Then reality sets in and you realize you are the adult in the house and it is the adult who needs to deal with these things.

Tonight my daughters were playing in our front yard and hollered for me. Mommy come quick, there is a dead squirrel on the lawn. Ewwww! It was one of those moments where you want to turn around and say, Mommy, there is a dead squirrel on the lawn. The same goes for killing spiders and other bugs, etc. I thought to ask my husband to deal with it, yet he looked like he was busy, so out to the garage I go to get a shovel. It took me a good couple minutes to get the courage to scoop up the squirrel and throw it into our garbage can. Even then it was move quick in case it becomes a zombie squirrel and tries to eat you. I can handle being pooped, peed and puked upon, yet the squirrel just grossed me out.

As a Facebook post reminded me,

I’ve been putting a lot of thought into it, and I just don’t think being an adult is going to work for me.

Stay young!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. worklesslivemoretoday
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 08:36:27

    Thank you for the post! We were mean’t to stay young at heart!

    Reply

    • lightandspirit
      Sep 12, 2013 @ 09:58:45

      I love the name of your blog, work less live more today. It is certainly important to stay young at heart. I here too often how old people feel, yet then I am reminded of the likes of my Grandpa who took up golf in his seventies and would walk the course. Exercise plays a large roll in how young we feel. We should all take time to play on the swings or in the sandbox every once in awhile.

      Reply

  2. Peggy
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 03:48:27

    Jen being an adult certainly can be challenging. We don’t wake up one morning suddenly ‘adult’, and magically up to it. We remain ourselves, but all in all, there is never a clear line crossed into adulthood. We carry who we are with us at all times and sometime have to work through the tough times.
    It’s exciting, and it’s frightening being an adult.
    And I am still learning!
    Hugs
    Peggy ♥♥♥

    Reply

    • lightandspirit
      Sep 12, 2013 @ 09:55:23

      There have certainly been a lot of things happening in my life this year where I feel like looking around for the adult of the house and realize it is me and my husband. As you said Peggy, it is all about learning and it is part of the path in life one must travel.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

