The Attitude of Gratitude

American Thanksgiving has recently passed, although we should make sure we are grateful everyday, and not just one day a year. This week there have been serveral things I have been grateful for. We had a big snow storm roll through the prairies this week and with it the temperatures plumetted. I was grateful for a snow day, as my car (which I nicknamed Santa’s sleigh) was in the shop. We braved the weather and picked it up in time to have for our winter driving.

I was also grateful to have the majority of our basement insulation finished, and also grateful for our furnace. There are still many people in our community who are without at least insulation, and a few still without furnaces. I am also grateful to be in my own home.

Whenever I have felt like I’ve been dipping into a downward spiral I start going through a gratitude list. Even if it only one small thing I can think of, it can often times turn a bad day into a good day. A good friend of mine was really struggling this week and was heading deeper into that spiral. I told her to think of at least one little thing to be grateful for. Even if it is something silly one of her kids did. And it helps.

Too often we forget to be grateful for the simple things. Even being grateful for being alive. We are where we need to be in each moment of time.

Thank  you for following my blog.

Leave a Reply

