Living in a daydream

You are not in the world; the world is in you. – Deepak Chopra, The Book of Secrets

I read this quote the other night, and my mind began to ponder the mystery of life. All my life I have been a deep thinker. As a child I can recall spending countless hours deep in thoughts and lost in daydreams. I’d dream about my future. I’d think about the mysteries of the universe; about religion; about life.

Before I even met my husband, I could see him. I couldn’t see his face; yet I could see him. I knew my dream guy was tall dark and handsome. I knew for a long time it would be someone who liked motorcycles. When I first met my husband, I was in denial. He reminded me of someone else I knew that I wasn’t as fond of. Yet when I really got to know him, I fell in love.

You may think this sounds like a fairy tale. Well, it’s my fairy tale.

While daydreaming of my future, I used to ponder my life. I wanted to travel the world. I wanted adventure. I also loved the glorified James Bond and Indiana Jones movies; full of action and adventure. Yet in the end, I also longed for the family life of raising children of my own.

Speaking of children, I once had a palm reader tell me I would have at least 2 children if I really wanted them. I now have 2 children.

It is fascinating how life works. Did I manifest my husband and kids? Is it fate? Or is it simply coincidence? I believe life is a giant canvas waiting for everyone to paint their piece of the picture. We can choose how we would like our life to look. We can hold onto darkness, hurt and hate, or we can exalt in light, happiness, joy and love.

As many times as we feel we are not in control; we are always in control. If you don’t like a situation you’re in, be grateful first for what you do like, then work on dreaming up something new to change what you don’t like.

Happy dreaming!

Leave a Reply

