Pondering the Universe

I have always been a daydreamer. When I was younger, I would sit there contemplating life, dreaming of where I’d want to be and what I’d want to do. I’d fantasize what it would be like to be in the shoes of my favorite tv and movie characters. Yet then I’d realize I could not bring myself to senselessly kill another human being. In fact, in the last few years, I’ve started to distance myself from the old shoot ’em up, bang ’em up movies and tv shows I once enjoyed.

More recently I’ve been pondering deeper thoughts about the Universe and my role in it. I’ve been reading The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, and came across an interesting quote:

‘I only decide about my Universe,’ continued the man quietly. ‘My Universe is my eyes and my ears. Anything else is hearsay.’ … ‘You don’t understand that what you decide in this shack of yours affects the lives and fates of millions of people? This is all monstrously wrong!’
‘I don’t know. I’ve never met all these people you speak of. And neither, I suspect, have you. They only exist in worlds we hear. It is folly to say you know what is happening to other people. Only they know, if they exist. They have their own Universes of their eyes and ears.’

The Universe certainly is a mysterious place. By reading something like this quote, it sounds like we are all alone, each in our own little worlds. Yet, at the same time we are all interconnected. Even empty space as we know it is not truly empty. So then, could we even simply be one having multitudes of experiences.

I once felt like I had an alter ego. It was while I was living in my first basement suite. I had received two different phone calls looking for Jen(n)ifer. One was from a lawyer regarding a car accident. Now my name is Jenifer, yet this one they had left a message for a Jen(n)ifer of a different last name. The next was a phone call early on a Sunday morning. The call woke me out of bed and the caller said, “Hi, Jen. Are you coming to the meeting?” I sat there scrambling in my mind as to what meeting had I forgotten about, especially one at 8 o’clock on a Sunday morning. I asked the caller, “What meeting?” “The clothing club meeting.” Now I was not aware I was even in a clothing club, so I politely told the caller they had the wrong number. Did they have the wrong number, or was there really myself in an alternate universe that really was part of this clothing club, and our lives just happened to cross for a split minute in time?

How do we truly know we are not plugged into some machine like in the Matrix, living out scripted lives? Are we in total control of what happens in our lives, or are we being guided? Does what happens to our neighbor really affect our lives? Does the violence, poverty and other going ons around the world really affect our lives? When you hear of a car crash, how did it affect your life? When you hear of a disaster, how did it affect your life? When you hear of how many people die of starvation a day, how does it truly affect your life? Yes these things are sad. Yes people die. Yet should we not in turn be grateful for what we do have? Should we not be grateful for our own lives; for the roof over our heads; for the food on our tables? If a stranger stopped at your house and said they needed food would you give them food? If that same stranger asked for a room for the night, would you give him a room?

Our lives are ours to control. People will come and go. Our paths will cross other paths. It is up to us to show love, kindness and compassion to those around us.

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

