A Lesson in Giving

Many years ago I was inspired by Oprah Winfrey. She had begun to really talk about some of her charity work and had created her Angel Network. I wanted to do something to help someone. In fact, I feel this way more often than not.

I was 18 at the time, living at home while going to college. My parents were generous enough to allow me to live rent free. With very little expenses, I felt like a king with the bit of money I had from my part-time job. Instead of splurging on frivolous things, I decided to help the local food bank out. I went to the grocery store and bought a case of macaroni, a case of soup, a case of juice and some hot chocolate. I got to the food bank just as they were closing. The lady came out to give me a hand unloading my car. She asked what I wanted brought in, I told her all of it. She asked who it was from. I told her, me. She was shocked as it was my age group that seemed to be frequenting the food bank.

Now I did this act of kindness from the bottom of my heart with no expectations of anything in return. It makes me feel good and happy when you can do even the simplest acts of kindness.

Remember, when giving, give from the heart. Never expect anything in return. Enjoy the moment of making someone’s day.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. AnitaAnswers
    Nov 12, 2014 @ 10:13:50

    Reblogged this on Anita Answers and commented:
    “…tis the season

    Reply

  2. Lo
    Nov 12, 2014 @ 10:26:02

    Cool article. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

