Theme Songs

Just as your favourite movie or TV show has a theme song, I believe in life, we all have theme songs. When I first really started paying attention to this, I was a young adult fresh on my own travelling the wide open countryside between my new home and my old home. My theme song of choice back then was Wide Open Spaces by the Dixie Chicks.

Who doesn’t know what I’m talking about.
Who’s never left home, never struck out.
To find a dream and a life of there own
A place in the clouds, a foundation of stone.
Many precede and many will follow
A young girl’s dream no longer hollow
It takes a shape in a place out west
What it holds for her, she hasn’t yet guessed.
– Dixie Chicks


At one point in my life, my theme song resonated with Shania Twain’s, Honey I’m Home.

Honey I’m home and I had a hard day 
Pour me a cold one and oh, by the way
Rub my feet, gimme something to eat
Fix me up my favourite treat.
Honey I’m back, my head’s killing me
I need to relax and watch TV
Get off the phone-give the dog a bone
Hey! Hey! Honey I’m home!
-Shania Twain

Today, my theme song fits more with Imagine Dragon’s On Top of the World, or American Author’s Best Day of My Life.

I had a dream so big and loud
I jumped so high I touched the clouds
– American Author

Cause I’m on top of the world, ‘ay
I’m on top of the world, ‘ay
Waiting on this for a while now
Paying my dues to the dirt
I’ve been waiting to smile, ‘ay
Been holding it in for a while, ‘ay
Take you with me if I can
Been dreaming of this since a child
I’m on top of the world.
– Imagine Dragons

Remember to “always look on the bright side of life…” – Monty Python.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Peggy
    Jul 18, 2015 @ 19:29:52

    Music has always played a huge part in my life since I was a teenager and it still does today.
    Annie Lennox and Cat Stevens are two artists that come to mind who have inspired me with their songs.
    Be well my friend
    Peggy xxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

